Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

If you have a payware prog whether it be a model, scenery or utility that you have tried.. tell us about it here.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

jonesey2k
Vintage Pair
Vintage Pair
Posts: 2609
Joined: 13 Aug 2004, 13:59
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by jonesey2k »

What an aeroplane! Those engines are a bit of a b****** to get going in the cold and take a while to warm up though :)
Going to have some fun with this :) Will be the perfect aeroplane for blasting around Tongass Fjords X when it is released :)
Error 482: Somebody shot the server with a 12 gauge.

Fodda
Vulcan
Vulcan
Posts: 439
Joined: 10 Nov 2004, 14:03
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by Fodda »

WOW! I've been looking forward to this for ages. Must say, the model is superb and the paints look pretty damn good too. Once I'd finally got both engines up and running fairly smoothly (which required a fair bit more than the 1/4" cracked that's recommended to avoid plug fouling) I took the US SAR paint PBY-5A from Biggin to Duxford (RAF paint is a PBY-5 with no u/c). Glorious soundset and the VC is an absolute marvel. Plus silky smooth framerates as well flying over GenX with the London 3D demo and StanstedPro.

Cousteau's Calypso PBY-6A was next tootling around Denmark and the modern avionics in that make a nice change although a read of the 80 odd pages of manual to learn how to use them is well in order. LOL... talking of avionics, I played with the Sperry during first flight and was amazed at how smoothly it flew the plane and kept a constant altitude... Although it wouldn't follow the heading I set... Then I realised I hadn't switched it on using the large overhead lever. Seems that on 50% fuel and default payload trim at 0 will get a nice take off at TO power settings, will climb at 80 KIAS at climb power and cruise level at 27 MAP and 2050 RPM... Who needs an AP!

Got a half day at work today, so looking forward to a longer tryout when I get home later... A must have plane and at £21 a lot cheaper than A2As AccuSim offerings (but I must admit, although having similar engine management, failures and engine stressing problems, as well as fantastic sounds doesn't quite match their B377 for gorgeousness).
Image

impearse
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 39
Joined: 01 May 2009, 20:24
Location: Ashford, Middlesex, England

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by impearse »

Paul K wrote:
calypsos wrote: Just a shame it is not a Sunderland :roll: :lol:
Ohhh, now wouldn't that be great !!! :)
I'll second that. It would be so great to have a decent Sunderland/Solent model (both, please) with a decent VC as well as 2-D panels. I love the Sunderland, currently building a highly detailed Airfix one with added cockpit details, and would love to have a FS one. :thumbsup:
Old pilots never die - they just taxy off to a distant parking spot...

Image

jonesey2k
Vintage Pair
Vintage Pair
Posts: 2609
Joined: 13 Aug 2004, 13:59
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by jonesey2k »

Just to add this model simulates icing very well. I was flying from Yakutat to Anchorage and during the climb I had to pass a layer of clouds and even with the anti-ice on I must have picked some up because she wouldn't climb and nearly stalled in level flight. Descended and tried again in clearer air with no problems :)

Sound set really gets my room shaking with my Tannoy TS12 doing what it's supposed to :dancer:
Error 482: Somebody shot the server with a 12 gauge.

DogTailRed2
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 629
Joined: 24 May 2008, 07:52

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by DogTailRed2 »

Image

Image

The engines need taming and not as immersive as A2A's P47 but nice none the less.
I'm just amazed that something this big and powerful is so slow and has no flaps. But it certainly has the range.
Not sure on Edith Piaf (or however you spell her) on the radio though, Glen Millar would be more appropriate.
Anyone know how to change it?

Vancouver
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1350
Joined: 05 Apr 2008, 00:27
Location: CYXX

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by Vancouver »

Ooooerrr! I think you mean Marlene Dietrich as opposed to Edith Piaf. It is a wav file called CAT_M.wav within the Aerosoft_PBY-5A_Mil\sound\Aerosoft_Sound_System_Cat.

Daresay it's doable to change it.
Alex

Paul K
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6371
Joined: 12 Jun 2005, 16:41
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by Paul K »

Yep, you can substitute it with any .wav file. Haven't done it myself, but Mathijs Kok at Aerosoft says he now has the latest U2 album installed. Not what I would have chosen to fly a vintage flying-boat by, but each to their own. :)
Pip Pip ! :)

alan cottrill
Lightning
Lightning
Posts: 260
Joined: 18 Apr 2006, 22:09

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by alan cottrill »

Hi All.
Is anyone haveing any issues with this wonderfull aircraft,regarding the ATC,i dont know if its my computer equipment,FSX,or aerosofts catalina,that is causing it,but i was doing a flight plan from british virgin isles (terrance b lettsome TUPJ),to miami (opa locka KOPF),and due a lack of time to complete this flight plan,i cancelled the flight plan,and in the dark i made a landing at (gregorio luperon intl MDPP) in the dominican republic.
I asked for directions to the airport 3 times to make sure i came in on runway 8,when the atc stopped giveing messages,then when i landed,and tried to use the atc,all i got was funny coloured blocks,instead of writing.
The only time i got this recovered,so i could read it,was to press ESC to end the flight,and then i played the recording of the flight landing section,then pressed continue the flight,and the atc was back.
This ruined an otherwise great flight in the cat,i was just getting the hang of her,not had icing yet,as the highest i have flown her was 8000 ft in warm air,and that was a struggle,due to me experimenting with the eng settings,i dont tend to read manuals,i just like to play around,until i get it to work for me,and i found the best way to climb to alt in the cat,was to keep the throttles at max,and control the eng rpm with prop adjustments,and keeping an eye on the temps,to keep them in limits.
This maybe tottally the wrong way,but it worked for me.
Regards alan.

Paul K
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6371
Joined: 12 Jun 2005, 16:41
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by Paul K »

Alan, can't help you at the moment with that because my Isambard Kingdom Brunel-vintage computer is once again spitting out FSX. Are you registered with the Aerosoft forums ? They have a dedicated Catalina support forum, and people like Mathijs and Finn are very helpful indeed.
Pip Pip ! :)

alan cottrill
Lightning
Lightning
Posts: 260
Joined: 18 Apr 2006, 22:09

Re: Aerosoft's FSX Catalina

Post by alan cottrill »

Hi Paul.
Simple answer is no not yet,but sounds like it might be worth my while doing so,thanks,i did take a look see at the forum,but could not see anything relating to my problem,chance is it will be my computer that no doubt proves to be the culprit,or FSX.
regards alan.

Post Reply