Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Classic Non-Brit Forum.
A dedicated area to post on your favourite 'Classic' non-British freeware flightsim aircraft.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
DaveG
The Gurus
Posts: 5953
Joined: 23 Jun 2004, 18:05
Location: in a deep, dark hole somewhere.
Contact:

Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by DaveG » 31 Dec 2018, 11:33

Just a HU, the ATC program Radar Contact has now been released as freeware.
See this post at AVsim for more info and download links.
https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/5477 ... ransition/
Dave G.
Image

Paul K
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6231
Joined: 12 Jun 2005, 16:41
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by Paul K » 31 Dec 2018, 12:19

Presumably, it works in P3Dv4.4, Dave ? :)
Pip Pip ! :)

DaveG
The Gurus
Posts: 5953
Joined: 23 Jun 2004, 18:05
Location: in a deep, dark hole somewhere.
Contact:

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by DaveG » 31 Dec 2018, 12:56

Apparently it can. Haven't downloaded it myself yet! :lol:
Dave G.
Image

Nigel H-J
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6198
Joined: 14 May 2005, 15:33
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by Nigel H-J » 31 Dec 2018, 14:46

Wow, a late Xmas present but I really think it is more to do with the fact that the developer (as you probably know) could not finish RC 05 due to family health problems and maybe has decided to call it a day with this current version. I may be wrong as I have not yet visited Avsim site

I had often thought about buying it for FSX but the price put me off. Now this is one incentive to go P3d later in 2019.

Regars
Nigel.
I used to be an optimist but with age I am now a grumpy old pessimist.

simondix
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1681
Joined: 10 Aug 2007, 08:54
Location: Redditch, Worcestershire, UK

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by simondix » 31 Dec 2018, 15:41

Yes it works in P3dv4
Simon

Image

'The trouble with the speed of light is it gets here too early in the morning!' Alfred. E. Neuman

Charlie Bravo
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 991
Joined: 27 Jun 2004, 12:03
Location: STN/EGSS

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by Charlie Bravo » 31 Dec 2018, 18:25

I loved Radar Contact from my FS2004/FSX days but those days are well and truly done.
Image
A bird in the hand will probably sh!t on your wrist.

Paul K
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6231
Joined: 12 Jun 2005, 16:41
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by Paul K » 31 Dec 2018, 18:51

Dave, Simon, thanks. I've downloaded but have yet to install. :)
Pip Pip ! :)

Nigel H-J
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6198
Joined: 14 May 2005, 15:33
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by Nigel H-J » 31 Dec 2018, 19:35

Well I just installed it and cannot get it to bl**dy work!! :rant:

I selected a flight plan but then got the following message:

Run-time error 713
Class not registered.
You need the following file to be installed on your machine.
MSSTDFMT.DLL

I went to the Avsim Radar Contact Forum and read about the problem but for the life of me I am completely stumped or either I am :stupid: Please read: https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/2658 ... ered-dlls/

If anyone here can help with an easy peasy ABC then please 'elp me!! :worried:

Regards
Nigel.
I used to be an optimist but with age I am now a grumpy old pessimist.

johnhinson
Comet
Comet
Posts: 191
Joined: 11 Feb 2005, 10:12
Location: Middle of nowhere
Contact:

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by johnhinson » 31 Dec 2018, 22:38

That thread says it is a Visual Basic 6 Runtime file.

The official source for this is at:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=24417

As I read that thread, that should install it properly and fully, without any other fancy faffing. It will certainly do no harm to try.

Like you I wouldn't download it from other, unknown sources.

John

Nigel H-J
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6198
Joined: 14 May 2005, 15:33
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: Radar Contact 4 now freeware

Post by Nigel H-J » 01 Jan 2019, 11:03

Hi John, no good I'm afraid it did not load up the dll however, I did ask for help at Avsim Radar Contact Forum and one member put me on the right track. He also told me that he had downloaded the dll file and confirmed that it was OK so I have done this.

Should anyone else have the same problem you can get the msstdfmt.dll from here and just place it in your sysWOW64 Folder and then register it through dos. http://www.dlldownloader.com/msstdfmt-dll/

Regards
Nigel.
I used to be an optimist but with age I am now a grumpy old pessimist.

Post Reply