Stats, Fleet Status, Route Enquiry and Type Ratings

VA Crew Room and general forum area.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

MALTBY D
The Gurus
Posts: 1491
Joined: 18 Jun 2004, 19:40
Contact:

Post by MALTBY D » 02 Feb 2007, 19:16

Hi Dan

Sort by Distance isn't straight forward.
Each distance is only ever calculated when the line is being displayed, so there's no way to order by it.
I could put all the results into a work table first & then use that to display from instead. I'll have a look at doing that some time.

Sorry about the earlier one about fuel prices not being answered, I missed it.
My database doesn't hold current prices, only what it was when someone last bought fuel there (if anyone has yet).
I doubt that's much use, but let me know if it would be.
Anyhow aren't we all stinking rich enough to not care? :lol:

DM
ImageImage

DanKH
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3526
Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 11:53
Location: EKCH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by DanKH » 02 Feb 2007, 22:22

No Props David...

Couldn't you just use a HAVING clause in your statement?

something like this: HAVING Distance NOT NULL

Or are you using GROUP BY statements?

(I don't know the Sql-statement you use of course, so I cant really say which function you should/could use...)
Best Rgds
Dan
Image
Image Image
Who's General Failure, and why is he reading my harddisk?

MALTBY D
The Gurus
Posts: 1491
Joined: 18 Jun 2004, 19:40
Contact:

Post by MALTBY D » 02 Feb 2007, 22:58

I'm afraid not, the distance isn't held as a piece of data, so no SQL can sort it.
BUT, I now don't see any reason why it couldn't be included in the data, rather than calculating it on the fly.
So long as it's in the data I can sort on it just like all the other fields.
I'll have a go at it that way.

DM
ImageImage

MALTBY D
The Gurus
Posts: 1491
Joined: 18 Jun 2004, 19:40
Contact:

Post by MALTBY D » 02 Feb 2007, 23:34

That was really easy! Estimated distance is now held in the route data and so can be sorted on.
Dan, give it a check over & see if it looks ok.

The distances may vary a couple of miles either way from FlyNet's numbers. It uses a clever bit of code found on the internet that calculates distance between coordinates, which we just happen to have in the airports table. (Lucky eh?)
FlyNet must do it the same way, but the calc depends on how wide you think the Earth is & there is some debate. :lol:

DM
Last edited by MALTBY D on 02 Feb 2007, 23:34, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImage

DanKH
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3526
Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 11:53
Location: EKCH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by DanKH » 02 Feb 2007, 23:34

Works a bliss! Thanks David.
Best Rgds
Dan
Image
Image Image
Who's General Failure, and why is he reading my harddisk?

DanKH
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3526
Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 11:53
Location: EKCH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by DanKH » 07 Feb 2007, 14:16

Another silly request....

could you format the FlightTime to hh:mm instead of tenth of an hour?

0.4h might be more meaningful displayed as 0h24min

1.2h might also be more readable as 1h12min

And btw. how DO you calculate the FlightTime?

Take CBF1525 SYCJ/TTPP 06:30-07:40 in my book that is 1h10min or 1.16h

But it says 1h in the column. It should at least say 1.2h or 1.1h like CBF1518 TTPP/SVMI 21:05-22:15 (1.1h) or 1h10min...

Well it all sums up to a formatting equal to all rows, an preferably in a h/m format :-)
Best Rgds
Dan
Image
Image Image
Who's General Failure, and why is he reading my harddisk?

DanKH
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3526
Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 11:53
Location: EKCH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by DanKH » 12 Feb 2007, 13:06

Just a suggestion:

It is possible to draw a map for each routing using Great Circle Mapper http://gc.kls2.com/

This URL http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gcmap?PATH=EGLL-HSSS

Will provide an image like this

Image

Somehow this could be hooked up upon our routing Page via a Link on the Route number (this particular is CBF1630 first leg)

You could even have multiple legs included (here a combination of CBF1630 and a variant return) just for the fun of it...:
Like this URL http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gcmap?PATH=E ... L&MARKER=1
Last edited by DanKH on 26 Feb 2007, 22:17, edited 1 time in total.
Best Rgds
Dan
Image
Image Image
Who's General Failure, and why is he reading my harddisk?

RAF_Quantum
The Gurus
Posts: 2740
Joined: 04 Jul 2004, 23:36
Location: NE Lincolnshire UK
Contact:

Post by RAF_Quantum » 12 Feb 2007, 16:31

Hi Dan,

Not sure why you want this particular feature? If you know the route then you shouldn't need a map. If on the other hand you want a pictorial 'overview' of routes of a particular aircraft type for route planning purposes then Joe's Google Earth file is superb for that.

Rgds

John
Image

DanKH
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3526
Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 11:53
Location: EKCH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by DanKH » 12 Feb 2007, 19:08

Just a gimmick, nothing else....
Best Rgds
Dan
Image
Image Image
Who's General Failure, and why is he reading my harddisk?

DanKH
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3526
Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 11:53
Location: EKCH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by DanKH » 18 Feb 2007, 22:55

But I would still suggest a reformat of the Time column to a hh:mm format, instead of the 10'th format...
Best Rgds
Dan
Image
Image Image
Who's General Failure, and why is he reading my harddisk?

Post Reply