Can anyone post pictures of Scottish Lochs made from FS9?

Specifically but not exclusively for VA pilots.. details of recommended addon scenery that cover VA destinations.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
pontiusthepilot
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Jun 2016, 13:01

Can anyone post pictures of Scottish Lochs made from FS9?

Post by pontiusthepilot » 22 Jun 2016, 10:23

Hi.

An odd request I know. But I am trying to get some terrain for Europe (and in the long run the USA) which will replace my current freeware setup.

A specific requirement is that lake elevations must have been corrected for use with LOD10 mesh. Hence the request for screenshots as I've grown nervous of making purchases to find that the lakes are still 200 ft above the surrounding country.

The Clyde Estuary and the southern shore of Loch Lomond are a particular problem area.

Regards.
Pontius.

Airspeed
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 5882
Joined: 14 Sep 2011, 03:46
Location: Central Victorian Goldfields, Australia
Contact:

Re: Can anyone post pictures of Scottish Lochs made from FS9

Post by Airspeed » 22 Jun 2016, 13:43

:hello: Hi Pontius, and welcome!
There are some here who still run FS9, though I personally purged it all when I had to change my HD.
If you are trying to do everything freeware, you may be setting a hard task.
If you've paid for scenery which is awful, complain, and see what they will do about it.

I don't know how much of a guru you are, but I think it is possible to get inside the specs, and change them.
This is legal if it's for personal use. Some of our contributors alter the flight dynamics of aircraft this way. I've even done minor tweaks myself.
There are many here who understand scenery much better than I do, so good luck. ;)

emfrat
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 848
Joined: 09 Jul 2008, 07:09
Location: West of Brisbane, in Sunny Queensland.

Re: Can anyone post pictures of Scottish Lochs made from FS9

Post by emfrat » 24 Jun 2016, 03:05

Pontius - some pics as requested. These are in the Great Glen, as the effect is even worse here than it is further south. It is something built-in to FS, because the coastlines are drawn to one grid and meshes are aligned to a different one.
John Woodside (aka 'Bones') can explain it better than I:
http://woodair.net/Flight_Sim/tutorial/design/grids.htm

Image

Image

Image

This is my FS9 Classic, with FSGlobal 2010 mesh. Ben Nevis looks just like a real one, but the MS coastlines make a mess of the lochs in the glen. They should be on the centreline.

ATB
MikeW

Post Reply