What does 'high level' mean in FS9 Scenery Library

Specifically but not exclusively for VA pilots.. details of recommended addon scenery that cover VA destinations.

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

hobby
Concorde
Concorde

Post by hobby »

I have been using successive MSFS programs since 1995 and have always been puzzled by the phrases 'place at high level' or 'high priority' in the Scenery Library. I am sticking with FS9 at present.

I find such wording to be ambiguous. Does it mean Priority1 in the FS9 scenery Library is high level on the basis that it is the first priority that one sees in the pririrt list or does 'high level' mean the highest number in the FS9 Scenery Library Priority List?

I have recently decided to confine my routine flying to the UK, France, Germany, Denmark, Netherland and Belgium. Having made that decision I deleted from my FS9 Addon Scenery files tens of airport sceneries for Australia, the Pacific region, New Zealand, the Caribbean, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Morocco and Cyprus.

Because I have family in the New England area I have retained scenery for that part of the US together with MAAM and Freeflow areas.

Looking at recent scenery correspondence by Dan brought this priority question to my mind once more.

Below I have given an overall picture of my current FS9 Scenery Library:
What I would appreciate advice on is which priority number should these sceneries be given in the FS9 Scenery Library to give the best possible rendition of the scenery. I usually fly at between 4000ft and 18000ft dependent on whether I am flying the DC3, Shorts 330 or 360, or
a turboprop airliner. Very occasionally I take to the air in an HS125 or a 737.

Right at the top I have 'Roads and Rivers of Europe' at Priority No.1
Then comes UK2000 Scenery Parts 1-7 with 7 at Priority 2 and Pt 1 at Priority 8. These are followed by 'Stansted Extreme' and 'Glasgow Extreme' in the same series.