The place for hardware and software issues, FS and non-FS related

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

Jon.M
VC10
VC10

SSDs. SATA or M.2?

Post by Jon.M »

Hi Chaps,

I'm planning on building a new PC. I've never built one from scratch before but I have swapped, replaced or upgraded RAM, PSU, graphics cards, optical and hard drives and fans in the past. The only part of the construction I haven't tackled before will be adding the processor and it's cooling fan to the mother board.

I've spent some time studying and deciding on parts but have a question. I wanted to use an SSD of 250Gb and a 1 Tb hard disk as an acceptable compromise on capacity verses speed verses cost. I've discovered that SSDs can be connected either using the SATA interface like hard disks or there is a newer option to use an M.2 connector. The plus side is that the M.2 is much faster, up to 2Gb/sec instead of the 600Mb/sec limit on the SATA drives. The downside is of course cost. €126 for M.2 as opposed to €88 for SATA.

The motherboard I'm thinking of (ASUS PRIME H270-PLUS) has 2 M.2 NVMe connectors. The processor is an 17-7700 with 16 Gb DDR4 RAM. I decided against an overclocking processor so I don't have to do anything special about cooling.

On the face of it it looks like spending the extra for the M.2 SSD is worth it, but has anyone here used SSDs with this interface or have an opinion on whether they're worth the extra expense?

Jon

TSR2
The Ministry

Re: SSDs. SATA or M.2?

Post by TSR2 »

Hi John,

The M.2 SSD is basically the same as the traditional 2.5" variety without the SATA interface connector and the enclosure. It's obviously more fiddley to change them, my M.2 connector is on the underside of the board, but being much smaller will give you the option of a smaller case perhaps. I've used a number of different manufactures over the years; Samsung, Kingston and SanDisk, but the Samsung units have always had the edge.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

blanston12
Vintage Pair