Dragon Rapide Compass

The place for hardware and software issues, FS and non-FS related

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
robs
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Jan 2011, 15:37

Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by robs » 07 May 2019, 22:16

Hi All,

I love Dave Garwood's Dragon Rapide.

I still have FSX.
I have got a mini screen I use for special gauges eg FMC's for big jets or G1000's in twins etc.

I like to practice non electronic nav too (whizz wheel etc)
I would like to use the compass in the Rapide as intended.
The Virtual cockpit is difficult to use but the bezel can be rotated (anyone know the simconnect or fsuipc for spad next?)
But the instrument 2D guage bezel doesn't seem to work - although compass does.

Anyone else come across this or can help?
Is there a similar DH aircraft out there with a transplantable 2d guage?

Please let me know
Rob

Airspeed
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 5811
Joined: 14 Sep 2011, 03:46
Location: Central Victorian Goldfields, Australia
Contact:

Re: Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by Airspeed » 08 May 2019, 01:53

Hi Robs :hello:
Unfortunately, you are talking way over my head.
I just use the main screen.
Hopefully, one of the VA members can help you.
Good luck. ;)
Come on, you knowledgeable Members; Robs has only done 3 posts in 8 years; show him what you've got, or he may not post again! :worried:

DaveG
The Gurus
Posts: 5933
Joined: 23 Jun 2004, 18:05
Location: in a deep, dark hole somewhere.
Contact:

Re: Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by DaveG » 08 May 2019, 07:14

Hi Rob, :hello:
I can let you know the Lvars and / or XML code used for the compass bezel if that will help. I don't use Spad, so I'm not sure how that works or exactly what info you need. I'll have to look up the code, it's been a while!
I only coded the VC compass, the 2d popup was done by someone else ( probably Fraser IIRC ).
Dave G.
Image

robs
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Jan 2011, 15:37

Re: Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by robs » 09 May 2019, 12:58

Hi All,

Mostly I don't post because I read the forums and usually find someone has made the same mistake before me and I am just wading thru the mess of giants!

2 issues prevailing. Won't stop me flying the Dragon.

1) on VC the compass bezel rotates but I find I cant get the 2d compass instrument (fsx in flight menu -->view-->instrument panel-->Compass) bezel to rotate using mouse/keyboard/random variables in SPAD NEXT
Plan was to undock the 2D compass window and use it big on a separate screen to allow the instrument to stay in view and use it more accurately.
Wanted to rotate the bezel and use it to navigate VFR with whizz wheel for drift and a stop watch as pilots used to.
Does the 2D gauge bezel actually rotate or is it always stuck due north?
Dragon Compass view.jpg
Dragon Compass view.jpg (111.72 KiB) Viewed 307 times
2) I have the VC compass bezel rotating using LVAR (the lock lever moves but doesn't seem to actually lock) and the variable seems to be reverse to the actual bezel setting.
But the 2D gauge bezel doesn't follow
Spad Compass.jpg
Spad Compass.jpg (79.06 KiB) Viewed 307 times
These are the variables I can see relevant. Any other idea's?
Spad Compass variables.jpg
Spad Compass variables.jpg (122.58 KiB) Viewed 307 times
]

Is there another De Havilland freeware aircraft with a 2D rotating bezel gauge that I could appropriate? (off to look at tiger moths, puss moths and chipmunks which had the same compass etc but finding the same gauge!)

Look forward to the comments.
Rob

Motormouse
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1141
Joined: 09 Sep 2004, 22:03
Location: In a Hangar

Re: Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by Motormouse » 09 May 2019, 13:21

umm, take a look over at Sim-outhouse, in the fsx section, the thread about Avro Tutor (which uses same compass) a fix was posted there.

Ttfn

Pete
An Elephant is a Mouse designed to
a government specification.

robs
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Jan 2011, 15:37

Re: Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by robs » 09 May 2019, 15:04

Pete,

I have looked thru the Avro Tutor posts (and downloaded to install later - what a great looking freeware!)

I came across a post with a website link to download AVRO_646_Compass_zip which I presume is the fix or gauge you are referring to but the link is inactive.
You don't have the fix to send do you?

Rob.

Vancouver
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1308
Joined: 05 Apr 2008, 00:27
Location: CYXX

Re: Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by Vancouver » 09 May 2019, 18:03

I think the fix was incorporated into the latest release of the Avro albeit from the same original download link which is why the said link goes inactive.
Alex

robs
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Jan 2011, 15:37

Re: Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by robs » 15 May 2019, 23:30

Hi

Motormouse suggested the Avro Tutor. What a great freeware plane. I plan to mail Nigel Richards and say thankyou for his work.

The 2D compass does transplant and the bezel does work (although not linked to the Virtual cockpit one) and initially looked just the ticket.
However you can't undock this particular gauge and move to another screen.
Right click and undock and drag is usually all that's needed. Any idea whats wrong?

Still open to suggestions.

Rob

511Flyer
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 964
Joined: 24 Jun 2007, 10:13
Location: Surrey

Re: Dragon Rapide Compass

Post by 511Flyer » 18 May 2019, 13:59

Nigel lives a somewhat reclusive life on a Greek island, where he is rebuilding a tumbledown cottage.

He can be without power for several days, and sometimes takes a while to answer. However, if you do manage to contact him he is very happy to discuss his work, and is very helpful with any problems or queries you may have.

Den.

Post Reply