INVISIBLE P3D

The place for hardware and software issues, FS and non-FS related

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Buggyman
Trident
Trident
Posts: 337
Joined: 28 May 2005, 20:29
Location: Scottish Borders

INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Buggyman » 02 Dec 2019, 21:34

Just undergone a complete re-install of Win 10, 64 bit and a new installation of P3D v4.5 and all its Orbx scenery.

When things go smoothly be suspicious - this was an easy-peasy set up except.... On running P3D it seems to load up as normal for the first 45 seconds or so and then the screen image shrinks to the task bar. Clicking on the task bar gives a fleeting image of the opening screen which flashes across the screen and disappears. The only way to close down P3D then is to do a PC restart which is a bit drastic although I have seriously thought of lobbing the whole thing out of the window.. :rant: I've tried getting P3D to repair itself but the same thing happens.

So, before I wipe the whole thing and do a 100% install which will take a couple of days at least - anyone got a suggestion? :dunno:

ATB

DaveG
The Gurus
Posts: 5954
Joined: 23 Jun 2004, 18:05
Location: in a deep, dark hole somewhere.
Contact:

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by DaveG » 03 Dec 2019, 08:05

Did you start p3d before adding any add-ons & if so did it work correctly then?
If it did, I'd disable all the add-ons, check it works then add them back one at a time, making sure you have the latest version of each.
Dave G.
Image

Buggyman
Trident
Trident
Posts: 337
Joined: 28 May 2005, 20:29
Location: Scottish Borders

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Buggyman » 03 Dec 2019, 09:32

Er no, I left Orbx on auto and left it to it. I know, I know, stupid error but it did work initially and all the scenery was there but subsequent attempts had the above problem.

I was hoping not to have to do a clean install with individual scenery installs and then 'proving flights' before going on to the next but it does seem to me - after a good night's sleep - that is the way to go. SWMBO thinks I spent more time and affection on my flight sim than I do her...…... :poke: Curses, she reads me like a book :lol:

ATB


Allan

Scorpius
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 922
Joined: 21 Apr 2007, 21:49
Location: Bournemouth

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Scorpius » 03 Dec 2019, 19:00

Did you remove all the files that P3D uses?

ie the ones in appdate etc?

Nev

Buggyman
Trident
Trident
Posts: 337
Joined: 28 May 2005, 20:29
Location: Scottish Borders

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Buggyman » 03 Dec 2019, 20:26

Thank you responding.
Did you remove all the files that P3D uses?
No, never realised that I needed to. Very much a 'plug & play' flight simmer I'm afraid.

So, do I have to delete appdate? Next question is why and where is it?

ATB


Allan

Scorpius
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 922
Joined: 21 Apr 2007, 21:49
Location: Bournemouth

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Scorpius » 04 Dec 2019, 09:37

Hi Alan,


You can automatically remove these folders by navigating to your Prepar3D v4 folder, scroll down a bit and double left click on the file 'Delete generated files', a small box will appear and then disappear again. This will automatically remove the 3 generated Prepar3D v4 folders folders in AppData, ProgramData and Local. These folders will generate again when Prepar3D is launched.

You must do this every time you uninstall before reinstalling.

Nev

Buggyman
Trident
Trident
Posts: 337
Joined: 28 May 2005, 20:29
Location: Scottish Borders

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Buggyman » 04 Dec 2019, 10:03

Thanks Nev, just proves you're never too old to learn.

I will try this out later today after I get my 'new' car taxed on line.

TTFN


Allan

Buggyman
Trident
Trident
Posts: 337
Joined: 28 May 2005, 20:29
Location: Scottish Borders

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Buggyman » 04 Dec 2019, 17:01

You must do this every time you uninstall before reinstalling.
Did that and Orbx threw a hissy fit saying that the 'Scenery Config was missing and that I should reinstall P3D. So, in the end I did a complete uninstall by the book and began the long drag of reinstalling. After each install of an Orbx add on I ran P3D. I really thought that things could not get worse but they have. After the initial install P3D - RAF Leeming area - looked like a desert much like FS7 or 8 with great big plates of water or multicoloured dots which changed to something like desert oasis when flying over them. I have now installed:

Vector
Trees
LC Europe
LC North America
England

non of which has made the blindest bit of difference, still large plates of missing texture, very few trees. London is similar but not as bad, there are black areas (no details) but not so many and all the buildings are recognisable and realistic.

Help!

ATB


Allan

Not only the above but I couldn't get my new car taxed on line because - wait for it - the garage had not done the promised MoT! :rant:

Scorpius
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 922
Joined: 21 Apr 2007, 21:49
Location: Bournemouth

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Scorpius » 04 Dec 2019, 17:15

Where did you install the Orbx files please?

Nev

Nigel H-J
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6199
Joined: 14 May 2005, 15:33
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: INVISIBLE P3D

Post by Nigel H-J » 04 Dec 2019, 17:22

Allan, although I have FSX, when I reinstalled it and then all of the UK ORBX sceneries, England being purchased as a DVD when it came out and could not transfer the licence over to ORBX due to not having the receipt, I found that my scenery in England was partly missing. After much questions and no help at ORBX I found out where my problem lay.

I was using the latest Central from ORBX and that was my problem, for some reason it just messed up my scenery of England even when it was already installed so I went back to FTX Central 3, and after downloading Scotland and Wales after first installing EU England my scenery was back as it should be. Not running the new ORBX Central anymore, just relying on the older version so it may help you if you uninstall the new ORBX Central or whatever they now call it and re-install FTX Central V3, after all, what do you have to lose by trying this. You may just be able to get round not having to re-install P3d by uninstalling all ORBX Sceneries through your current ORBX Central before deleting it and installing FTX Central 3 if that makes sense.

Here is the link:

https://orbxdirect.com/ftxcentral

Let me know if this works.

Regards
Nigel.
I used to be an optimist but with age I am now a grumpy old pessimist.

Post Reply