What do I need for carrier ops?

Classic British Flight Sim forum.
Support for Maltby/Piper FS models & other Classic British freeware.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

DogTailRed2
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 629
Joined: 24 May 2008, 07:52

What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by DogTailRed2 »

Hi,

I have FSX and SP2. What do I need to do to activate carrier landings?
Should I uninstall sp2 and then purchase FSX Expansion oack or is their an easier way?
Once done can I operate any aircraft from a carrier or do carrier planes have something special that makes them active?

Thanks,

Ted.

p.s. The Carrier exhibition at Yeaovilton shows a Buccanear going off the deck of the Ark Royal backwards into the sea.
Anyone know if this was a real accident or was the aircraft being dumped (it's a non active, wing folded and parked plane with no crew on board).

Techy111
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3319
Joined: 15 Aug 2007, 13:51
Location: Coming out of Retirement.

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by Techy111 »

Hi Ted.....FSX has its own carrier ops built in...Or get Abacus Flight Deck 5.....?

Any help you need just ask mate...

Tony
The last surviving and complete Vickers Vanguard....."Superb"
ImageImageImage

DogTailRed2
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 629
Joined: 24 May 2008, 07:52

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by DogTailRed2 »

Does that mean if I install the Ark Royal I can just fly.
That's great, I was expecting to have to purchase some kind of add-on.

Techy111
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3319
Joined: 15 Aug 2007, 13:51
Location: Coming out of Retirement.

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by Techy111 »

Yup....do you have an aircraft with a hook...?

I recommend Dino's Goshawk for FSX.....she is very forgiving.....Available at Avsim...just make sure you get the latest version... :thumbsup:

Keep asking those questions...i won't bite.....well.....if i get too hungry i will..... :D

Tony
The last surviving and complete Vickers Vanguard....."Superb"
ImageImageImage

sketchy74
Vulcan
Vulcan
Posts: 427
Joined: 12 Jan 2006, 11:27
Location: Los Angeles, California, But an ExPat Brit from Cornwall

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by sketchy74 »

DogTailRed2 wrote: p.s. The Carrier exhibition at Yeaovilton shows a Buccanear going off the deck of the Ark Royal backwards into the sea.
Anyone know if this was a real accident or was the aircraft being dumped (it's a non active, wing folded and parked plane with no crew on board).
Hi DogTailRed,

I hope you managed to get everything installed to Fly Carrier ops? I cannot recommend Dino's Goshawk enough too, a great aircraft to get to grips with Carrier landings.

In answer to your question I understand the video was filmed as a re-inactment of an actual of when a Bucc was lost off the back of the Ark so it could be used as a training aid. Seaking 55 could probably enlighten you more on the real story.

Is this the video you mentioned?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBfqiKuk ... annel_page

Happy Carrier ops!

Sketchy

Techy111
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3319
Joined: 15 Aug 2007, 13:51
Location: Coming out of Retirement.

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by Techy111 »

I shouldn't post this here....but was looking at that poor Bucc getting trashed.... :@ ...and came across this....Yikes! ! !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHUyWw17ihQ

Tony
The last surviving and complete Vickers Vanguard....."Superb"
ImageImageImage

DaveB
The Ministry
Posts: 30457
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 20:46
Location: Pelsall, West Mids, UK
Contact:

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by DaveB »

Hi DTR2..

DO NOT purchase Abacus Flightdeck 5. One of the members here will probably give it to you (he's tried already but got no takers) :lol: If you're gonna do it, do it right. Buy FSX Accelaration.. remove FSX SP2.. install FSX ACC then away you go. The FSX ACC pack is a lot more than SP2 with some bits added and can be picked up for a song now ;-) FD5 is little more than a waste of money IMHO (and in the opinion of most if not all the poor unfortunates who've bought it.. me included) ;-)

ATB

DaveB :tab:
ImageImage
Old sailors never die.. they just smell that way!

Techy111
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3319
Joined: 15 Aug 2007, 13:51
Location: Coming out of Retirement.

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by Techy111 »

I would agree Dave...but i was interested in getting him started...I have the download version and would be happy to.....Uhmmmm...PM me.... :worried:

And what Dave said is the way to go..... :thumbsup:

Tony
The last surviving and complete Vickers Vanguard....."Superb"
ImageImageImage

TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 12753
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by TSR2 »

Definately avoid FD5 and get acceleration, well worth it! :)
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

Seaking
VC10
VC10
Posts: 532
Joined: 10 Jan 2006, 23:21

Re: What do I need for carrier ops?

Post by Seaking »

Correct, there was an actual instance where a bucc went over the side on the Ark, I was onboard and on deck. All that was left if memory
serves me correctly was the nose cone.

I believe it was because they disconnected the tractor to soon with not enough lashings to tie her down. It created quite a stir on deck
though.
AsusP5Q mobo P45 Chipset
QX6850 extreme 3ghz running at 3.6
4 gig OCZ DDR2 1066Mhz PC8500
XFX 8800GTS 512 G92Engine

Post Reply