Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Classic British Flight Sim forum.
Support for Maltby/Piper FS models & other Classic British freeware.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 12354
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by TSR2 » 03 Aug 2009, 20:49

Hi Guys, did this post a while ago for the 1-11, but the process is basically the same for other models. Its been linked to serveral times already, so figured it should be a sticky...

Righty, please remember none of DM's stuff is designed for FSX. The locations that the files go into changed in FSX so the installers for any FS9 aircraft will put the files where they would have gone in FS9., something to bare in mind for the future.

OK, so first of all, for the 510ED you'll need the 3 files from DM's website...
1. 111_SOUND_20061001.zip
2. 111_PANEL_510ED_20061102.zip
3. 111_510ED_20080120.zip

Next, starting with the first zip file, open it and run the installer, but when it asks where to install to, specify a temporary folder e.g. create c:\DMFS9Temp or something, and point the installer at that directory. When the installer has finished extracting the files open the second zip file and run the installer doing exatly the same again and pointing it at the same temporary folder (don't create a new one.) If you are prompted to merger folders or overwrite files always say Yes.

You now have all the 1-11 510ED files extracted in the temp location. Now all we need to do is move them to the correct folders in FSX.
If youn go into your temp folder, there will now be 3 sub folders, Aircraft, Texture and effects.

We'll start with the Effects folder.
Copy the contents of the Effects folder in the temporary location to your main FSX effects folder. Depending on where you have installed FSX, this will be ...\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Effects

Next, the go into the aircraft folder in the temp location. There should be 3 folders; BAC 1-11 510ED, BAC 1-11 510ED Hush-Kits, and DMFS Shared Files
Select all 3 folders and copy the 3 complete folders to ...\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\SimObjects\Airplanes

Finally, go to the texture folder in the temp directory. I cant remember if these need to go to a different directory in FSX, but we can put them in the main texture directory and see if it works. Copy the contenets of the texture directory to ...\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Texture

Now thats all of the files in the correct place.

Things to note. In FSX they changed the co-ordinates for positioning effects, and on all FS9 aircraft the smoke effects will be rotated by 90 degrees. They also changed the way existing effects work, so to be honest the engine smoke looks rubbish, so you have two choices.

1. Change the effect coordinates so that the are in the correct poistion...
To do this open each of the aircraft.cfg files (There is one for each version, i.e. Hush kits and non hush kitted) and find the [smokesystem] section...

Code: Select all

[SMOKESYSTEM]
Smoke.0=3.05, -30.10, -7.08, DM_1-11_SMOKE_R
Smoke.1=3.05, -30.10,  7.08, DM_1-11_SMOKE_L
Smoke.2=3.05, -30.10, -7.08, DM_1-11_SMOKE_R
Smoke.3=3.05, -30.10,  7.08, DM_1-11_SMOKE_L
The numbers after the = sign are y,x,z coordinates from the models datum point, followed by the file name of effect to use.
in FSX the order of these needs to be change to x,z,y ...so for the 510ED above, in FSX this would become...

Code: Select all

[SMOKESYSTEM]
Smoke.0= -30.10, -7.08, 3.05, DM_1-11_SMOKE_R
Smoke.1= -30.10,  7.08, 3.05, DM_1-11_SMOKE_L
Smoke.2= -30.10, -7.08, 3.05, DM_1-11_SMOKE_R
Smoke.3= -30.10,  7.08, 3.05, DM_1-11_SMOKE_L
2. Remove the effect altogether. Personally, with most FS9 smoke effects in FSX, the look rubbish, so if you want to stop them showing altogether, the safest way is to comment out the smoke likes so that the system doesn't read them, like so...

Code: Select all

[SMOKESYSTEM]
//Smoke.0=3.05, -30.10, -7.08, DM_1-11_SMOKE_R
//Smoke.1=3.05, -30.10,  7.08, DM_1-11_SMOKE_L
//Smoke.2=3.05, -30.10, -7.08, DM_1-11_SMOKE_R
//Smoke.3=3.05, -30.10,  7.08, DM_1-11_SMOKE_L
If your wanting to install any FS9 aircraft in FSX, this is the safest way to go about it as you know exactly what you have put were and aren't relying on installers. Same with FS9, manual installs are always best once you know what your doing :)

Let us know how you get on.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

User avatar
Techy111
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3319
Joined: 15 Aug 2007, 13:51
Location: Coming out of Retirement.

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by Techy111 » 03 Aug 2009, 20:53

Cracking Ben....I have a better idea mate....can i have a copy of all yours please Sir.... :worried:

Still not sorted that smoke issue thing with the 10.... :roll:

Nice Sticky.... :thumbsup:

Tony
The last surviving and complete Vickers Vanguard....."Superb"
ImageImageImage

User avatar
DaveB
The Ministry
Posts: 30456
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 20:46
Location: Pelsall, West Mids, UK
Contact:

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by DaveB » 04 Aug 2009, 00:31

There ISN'T a smoke issue with the 10. You're in the wrong sim ;-)

Nice one Ben :thumbsup:

ATB

DaveB :tab:
ImageImage
Old sailors never die.. they just smell that way!

User avatar
Garry Russell
The Ministry
Posts: 27180
Joined: 29 Jan 2005, 01:53
Location: On the other side of the wall

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by Garry Russell » 04 Aug 2009, 00:33

Fixing things that aren't broken.......sounds more like plumbers :lol:

Garry
Garry

Image

"In the world of virtual reality things are not always what they seem."

User avatar
DaveB
The Ministry
Posts: 30456
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 20:46
Location: Pelsall, West Mids, UK
Contact:

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by DaveB » 04 Aug 2009, 00:50

Well almost mate. You forgot to add that after they've fixed one problem, they leave another.. but can't get back to you for a fortnight! :roll:

An alternative to all this strife is to make an additional entry in the FSX.cfg..

[Main]
User Objects=Airplane, Helicopter
SimObjectPaths.0=SimObjects\Airplanes
SimObjectPaths.1=SimObjects\Rotorcraft
SimObjectPaths.2=SimObjects\GroundVehicles
SimObjectPaths.3=SimObjects\Boats
SimObjectPaths.4=SimObjects\Animals
SimObjectPaths.5=SimObjects\Misc
SimObjectPaths.6=SimObjects\Aircraft

.. then make a folder in your SimObjects folder called Aircraft and throw the FS9 aircraft into it. They should all work and you have the advantage of a) not having to fart around with missing textures and b) keeping native FSX and FS9 aircraft (not soddin Airplanes!) apart.

ATB

DaveB :tab:
ImageImage
Old sailors never die.. they just smell that way!

User avatar
speedbird591
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 4038
Joined: 24 Jun 2004, 05:56
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by speedbird591 » 04 Aug 2009, 10:21

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Oh Dave, you do make me laugh! I'm no technical expert on flight sim (oh, really? :lol: ), but after all these years of the FSX/FS9 thing, I still can't understand the attraction of undergoing so much hassle to get FS9 aircraft to work fully in FSX :worried:

Maybe it's something to do with getting older and confronting your mortality. You start getting protective of what time you've got left before Alzheimer's sets in, so you decide to prioritise. Do you want to spend most of your remaining time fiddling about trying to achieve something pointless or do you want to do something more gratifying?

Sorry - what was the question, again? :$

Ian :lol:

User avatar
Techy111
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 3319
Joined: 15 Aug 2007, 13:51
Location: Coming out of Retirement.

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by Techy111 » 04 Aug 2009, 10:56

Poor old Ian !!! Luckily I am still young enough to fiddle !

I'll get my coat and your zimmer! Lol

Tony
The last surviving and complete Vickers Vanguard....."Superb"
ImageImageImage

User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 12354
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by TSR2 » 04 Aug 2009, 13:11

Hi Dave,

yep, certainly you can add the aircraft folder in if you want, but the process will be the same for DM's stuff (or anything that uses an autoinstaller for FS9) ;-)
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

Dev One
Vintage Pair
Vintage Pair
Posts: 2107
Joined: 10 Jul 2009, 08:33
Location: 20 km south of LFBN

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by Dev One » 04 Aug 2009, 20:07

Thanks for the tip about adding a new entry in the FSX.cfg & new folder labelled Aircraft, as you say it should make transfer of FS9 stuff simple & in one known place. Doesn't cure the differences though between the two, never mind that'll keep me occupied finding out how to....
Keith

User avatar
DaveB
The Ministry
Posts: 30456
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 20:46
Location: Pelsall, West Mids, UK
Contact:

Re: Install DM's Aircraft in FSX

Post by DaveB » 04 Aug 2009, 20:22

Yep.. it's like anything with autoinstall really. You can either let it do it's own thing or send it to another folder for you to see what you're letting yourself in for :) It's difficult to grasp that some folk don't have or have probably never heard of FS9 and that FSX is their first toe dip into the world of flight simulation. One must never presume (note to self) ;-)
The only downside I can think of in making a separate folder in FSX is the same downside with FS9 when you drag and drop and that is if the developer has used common textures that an install dumps into the main texture folder. Of course, the same applies to FSX :)

ATB

DaveB :tab:
ImageImage
Old sailors never die.. they just smell that way!

Post Reply