Bac 1-11 APU problem

Classic British Flight Sim forum.
Support for Maltby/Piper FS models & other Classic British freeware.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
PilotGuy815
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 18
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 23:10

Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by PilotGuy815 » 17 Oct 2012, 02:41

As others have complained, the APU will not start on the BAC 1-11 in FSX. It has also been stated that this is an issue of the APU start code having been written using the FS9 SDK. Could anyone tell me where the code is located? I'm pretty sure it's in XML. I think that if I toyed around a bit, then I could figure it out. Unfortunately, David Maltby seems to have left the forum. He still hasn't answered my PM.

-PilotGuy815
Last edited by PilotGuy815 on 28 Oct 2012, 00:02, edited 2 times in total.

Garry Russell
The Ministry
Posts: 27180
Joined: 29 Jan 2005, 01:53
Location: On the other side of the wall

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by Garry Russell » 17 Oct 2012, 08:47

OK

I can't answer this as I don't use FS.X however the model was made for FS.9 but does work to an extent in FS.X so you, or indeed anyone else, should not be 'complaining' but accepting that not everything will work as initially intended out of the box or in some cases, at all. If you want it to then use FS.9

I'm sure someone will help you here, but be patient


David has not left the forum but does have a busy home life

A little less rude post would be welcome.
Garry

Image

"In the world of virtual reality things are not always what they seem."

Brian Franklin
VC10
VC10
Posts: 590
Joined: 14 Jul 2004, 19:42
Location: Chester / London
Contact:

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by Brian Franklin » 17 Oct 2012, 08:51

Never ceases to amaze me how when you toil to provide something free of charge, some people think that you then owe them a lifetime of free support too :((

Garry Russell
The Ministry
Posts: 27180
Joined: 29 Jan 2005, 01:53
Location: On the other side of the wall

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by Garry Russell » 17 Oct 2012, 08:53

:agree:

Indeed, and have nothing else to do.
Garry

Image

"In the world of virtual reality things are not always what they seem."

DaveB
The Ministry
Posts: 30457
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 20:46
Location: Pelsall, West Mids, UK
Contact:

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by DaveB » 17 Oct 2012, 10:06

Hi PilotGuy815 :)

The code for the APU control is in the obvious place mate.. in the cab file located in /Aircraft/DMFS Shared Files/BAC 1-11 Panel. Where you have this folder in FSX I've no idea but that's where it is.. in the cab ;)
ATB
DaveB B)smk
ImageImage
Old sailors never die.. they just smell that way!

PilotGuy815
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 18
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 23:10

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by PilotGuy815 » 17 Oct 2012, 14:24

Thank you. I wasn't like most people, asking for an fsx native edition. I wasn't trying to be rude. I was just asking where a file was located.

Garry Russell
The Ministry
Posts: 27180
Joined: 29 Jan 2005, 01:53
Location: On the other side of the wall

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by Garry Russell » 17 Oct 2012, 16:23

Understood

Referring to complaints and mentioning a non replied to PM was what gave that impression

Hope you're sorted now :thumbsup:
Garry

Image

"In the world of virtual reality things are not always what they seem."

PilotGuy815
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 18
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 23:10

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by PilotGuy815 » 17 Oct 2012, 19:38

I apologize for any rudeness and will try my best next time I make a post.

PS: Is the code linked to the apu switch on the overhead?

PilotGuy815
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Posts: 18
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 23:10

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by PilotGuy815 » 17 Oct 2012, 19:58

Here's the alleged culprit:

Code: Select all

(A:GENERAL ENG3 FUEL VALVE,bool) 1 == if{ 5 (>L:DM STARTER 3,number) 0 (>K:MIXTURE3_LEAN) (A:GENERAL ENG3 FUEL VALVE, bool) 0 == if{ 0 (>K:TOGGLE_FUEL_VALVE_ENG3) } }
It appears that the APU is actually a 3rd engine to FS, and toggling it activates the fuel valve command (See the end of the code). The command must differ between FS9 and FSX. I will see if I can figure out how it differs and how to make it work.

DaveB
The Ministry
Posts: 30457
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 20:46
Location: Pelsall, West Mids, UK
Contact:

Re: Bac 1-11 APU problem

Post by DaveB » 17 Oct 2012, 21:43

Yes indeed. As real as it gets is often not very real at all and developers have to find ways around problems with the sim itself.. just so that the end user can see something and work it even if that part isn't really working :lol: I don't believe there IS any proper code in FS for APU's.. nor for many other functions. Hence, DM having to make it a 3rd engine. You will note it's fuel burn is negligable so there is no hit on the aircrafts duration ;)

ATB
DaveB B)smk
ImageImage
Old sailors never die.. they just smell that way!

Post Reply