Rick Piper Viscount

Classic British Flight Sim forum.
Support for Maltby/Piper FS models & other Classic British freeware.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
adysmith
Trident
Trident
Posts: 392
Joined: 12 Jun 2013, 11:43
Location: EGNH

Rick Piper Viscount

Post by adysmith » 28 Nov 2019, 08:11

I have this on two PCs (Desktop and Laptop)

I cannot deploy full flap on approach until I close the throttles completely in the flare, surely this is not right?

Additionally on my laptop, using mouse yoke/throttle, No. 1 and 4 will not go to full throttle until significant speed has been achieved on take off roll, control locks have been disengaged, checked on the throttle quadrant view.
It's fine on desktop PC with a four lever quadrant controlling the engines.

Any ideas?
ImageImage
Image
Old pilots never die, they just run out of runway.

TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 12416
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Rick Piper Viscount

Post by TSR2 » 30 Nov 2019, 16:51

I was just going to take a look. Which model / panel are you flying as there 10 different panels across the 800 / 810 / 700 ranges.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 12416
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Rick Piper Viscount

Post by TSR2 » 01 Dec 2019, 19:54

Ok, tried it with the 700. No issues with flaps. On going to full power I have to hold her on the brakes and slowly increase the throttle all the way up... very gradually. I had a quick look at the 810. No flap issues, but will need to check the throttles later. Fraser did a really detailed PDF for the viscounts, and I’m sure this was covered, but can’t find it atm.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

adysmith
Trident
Trident
Posts: 392
Joined: 12 Jun 2013, 11:43
Location: EGNH

Re: Rick Piper Viscount

Post by adysmith » 01 Dec 2019, 20:15

TSR2 wrote:
30 Nov 2019, 16:51
I was just going to take a look. Which model / panel are you flying as there 10 different panels across the 800 / 810 / 700 ranges.
802/806, black print in the manual.
ImageImage
Image
Old pilots never die, they just run out of runway.

TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 12416
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Rick Piper Viscount

Post by TSR2 » 01 Dec 2019, 23:43

No problem with the 806 either. Flaps and throttle as expected. I'm using a Sidewinder2.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

johnhinson
Comet
Comet
Posts: 191
Joined: 11 Feb 2005, 10:12
Location: Middle of nowhere
Contact:

Re: Rick Piper Viscount

Post by johnhinson » 03 Dec 2019, 08:43

If I remember rightly on the both the Viscount 700 and 800 you:
  • Descend at Flaps 2
  • Approach at Flaps 3
  • Deploy Flaps 4 after touchdown for braking
I don't think you need to use position 4 for any other purpose.

John

Post Reply