FS2004 props in FSX

A quiet place for budding model makers to share thoughts, get answers to questions and request and share references.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
User avatar
FlyTexas
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 5310
Joined: 26 Jun 2004, 10:18
Location: Texas

FS2004 props in FSX

Post by FlyTexas » 11 Oct 2018, 19:17

I know this question is as old as FSX itself, but...what is the best way to minimize the texture issue seen when using FS2004 props in FSX? I've read that you need the source files, and I've also read that playing with the texture's alpha layer will help. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :) Oh, the aircraft is the YS-11 produced by AFG. I recently found the fictional BEA textures which gave me a chuckle. :lol:

Image

Brian

User avatar
DaveG
The Gurus
Posts: 5785
Joined: 23 Jun 2004, 18:05
Location: in a deep, dark hole somewhere.
Contact:

Re: FS2004 props in FSX

Post by DaveG » 11 Oct 2018, 20:25

The only way to fix it completely is to convert it to FSX native. Best way to do that is with the original source files, but it can be converted using MCX although the process can be to tricky and you'll need the original authors permission if you intended to distribute it.

You can alter the Alpha channel of the prop texture to improve it somewhat. It'll look better against clouds but you'll never get rid of that cutout effect entirely.
Dave G.
Image

User avatar
FlyTexas
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 5310
Joined: 26 Jun 2004, 10:18
Location: Texas

Re: FS2004 props in FSX

Post by FlyTexas » 12 Oct 2018, 08:51

Thanks Dave. :) I'll keep tinkering with the alpha textures.

Brian

User avatar
Filonian
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 5211
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 09:08
Location: Gristhorpe, UK

Re: FS2004 props in FSX

Post by Filonian » 14 Oct 2018, 09:02

Brian,

Have a look at these. I have used them with good results.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xo7197tl7k4aq ... S.zip?dl=0


Graham
Image
To me, "Drink responsibly" means don't spill it!!!

User avatar
FlyTexas
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 5310
Joined: 26 Jun 2004, 10:18
Location: Texas

Re: FS2004 props in FSX

Post by FlyTexas » 14 Oct 2018, 12:56

Thank you very much, Graham. I appreciate your help. :thumbsup:

Brian

User avatar
Filonian
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 5211
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 09:08
Location: Gristhorpe, UK

Re: FS2004 props in FSX

Post by Filonian » 14 Oct 2018, 16:17

Just back from a very wet flower arranging session at the East Riding Crematorium.

Glad to help Brian. Hope you also achieve success.


Graham
Image
To me, "Drink responsibly" means don't spill it!!!

User avatar
fs10inator
Meteor
Meteor
Posts: 58
Joined: 09 Jul 2013, 15:58
Location: Withheld
Contact:

Re: FS2004 props in FSX

Post by fs10inator » 17 Oct 2018, 09:38

I used Photoshop to add an alpha channel for the prop. What I do is make my prop blur alpha texture, and then add it to my prop PSD file in Photoshop as an alpha channel.
In the layers box, there is a tab next to "Layers" which says "Channels".

There, you would normally see three channels, assuming the file lacks an alpha channel. If it does, "Alpha" should be present (you can add it). This is where your alpha channel texture goes. I did the same thing for my prop blur.
Image
After which, I saved my PSD (preferably the same name as your prop texture), and used the ACES ImageTool to convert it to a format FSX can recognize (e.g. DDS with DXT5 compression).

I used this FSDeveloper wiki article for help, and it paid off.
Image

User avatar
FlyTexas
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 5310
Joined: 26 Jun 2004, 10:18
Location: Texas

Re: FS2004 props in FSX

Post by FlyTexas » 17 Oct 2018, 20:52

Thanks very much for the tip! :thumbsup:

Brian

Post Reply