GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

A quiet place for budding model makers to share thoughts, get answers to questions and request and share references.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Molyned
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 634
Joined: 19 Mar 2008, 16:07
Location: Nottinghamshire UK

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by Molyned » 02 Jan 2019, 16:10

I think the P3D conversion would go down very well with the punters Dave - go for it. :thumbsup:
You might like to include the rest of my files to be able to offer a complete aircraft downad - be safer. :agree:
Cheers :cheers:
Dave M(oly)

blanston12
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1742
Joined: 28 Jun 2004, 20:45
Location: San Francsico, California

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by blanston12 » 03 Jan 2019, 18:40

I think it would be fine as a P3D only release. For me, P3D only would be better as I don't use FSX anymore except for testing. Those who actually use FSX can still use the original version.
Joe Cusick,

Image
I am serious, and don't call me Shirley.

DaveG
The Gurus
Posts: 5924
Joined: 23 Jun 2004, 18:05
Location: in a deep, dark hole somewhere.
Contact:

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by DaveG » 03 Jan 2019, 19:44

Ok, the plan is to just convert to P3d v4 format. I'll include all necessary files (thanks Dave :thumbsup: ) so it will be a stand alone package with the original 2 paints.
Adding extra schemes designed for the FS9 model could cause problems, so I'll have to make sure any instructions are clear.
Probably upload someone this weekend.
Dave G.
Image

Molyned
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 634
Joined: 19 Mar 2008, 16:07
Location: Nottinghamshire UK

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by Molyned » 03 Jan 2019, 20:39

Great ! by uploading the complete aircraft file-set , folks shouldnt get it wrong -unlike me :$ .
Cheers
Dave M(oly)

Dev One
Vintage Pair
Vintage Pair
Posts: 2232
Joined: 10 Jul 2009, 08:33
Location: 20 km south of LFBN

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by Dev One » 05 Jan 2019, 16:01

Dev One wrote:
02 Jan 2019, 06:55

I am now b****ered as my main 'puter has decided to quit & at the mo cannot see what is wrong.......will have to see if the HDD works in my old W7 machine as my current model is not backed up fully! :wall: :wall: :wall:
Keith
After 3 days of messing about have found that my graphics card has decided to quit, but have currently salvaged the GT630 from my old W7 machine, whilst I try to get assistance from my son to find a dual output card to replace the Radion HD5770...at least I'm back on my desktop, found laptop a bit fiddly!
Keith

blanston12
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1742
Joined: 28 Jun 2004, 20:45
Location: San Francsico, California

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by blanston12 » 05 Jan 2019, 18:11

Dev One wrote:
05 Jan 2019, 16:01
Dev One wrote:
02 Jan 2019, 06:55

I am now b****ered as my main 'puter has decided to quit & at the mo cannot see what is wrong.......will have to see if the HDD works in my old W7 machine as my current model is not backed up fully! :wall: :wall: :wall:
Keith
After 3 days of messing about have found that my graphics card has decided to quit, but have currently salvaged the GT630 from my old W7 machine, whilst I try to get assistance from my son to find a dual output card to replace the Radion HD5770...at least I'm back on my desktop, found laptop a bit fiddly!
Keith
Maybe its time for that new RTX 2080 ti
Joe Cusick,

Image
I am serious, and don't call me Shirley.

Dev One
Vintage Pair
Vintage Pair
Posts: 2232
Joined: 10 Jul 2009, 08:33
Location: 20 km south of LFBN

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by Dev One » 06 Jan 2019, 06:38

Do you know of a good Fairy? 1500€ is way beyond my pension allowance!
Keith

GHD
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1329
Joined: 17 Sep 2004, 14:04
Location: Harton Village, UK

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by GHD » 06 Jan 2019, 11:22

Dev One wrote:
06 Jan 2019, 06:38
Do you know of a good Fairy? 1500€ is way beyond my pension allowance!
Keith
Don't you mean a God Fairy :hide:
George

Image

AllanL
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 668
Joined: 06 Sep 2005, 21:01
Location: Scotland

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by AllanL » 06 Jan 2019, 15:11

€90 spent on an external backup drive might be worthy of consideration too!

Far too late with this bit of pedantry, but a bit like that stone in the shoe you keep trying to ignore (or SWMBO) it bugs me that the Mk II Gladiator was never the Mk 2.

Up to about 1942 all RAF Marks were in roman numerals - hence the spitfires Mk I to Mk XIX. from about '43 the marks of new aircraft would typically be in arabic numerals while existing aircraft could continue with the roman numerals. From '48 the Spitfire XIX was also referred to as the PR.19, just to add some confusion to the picture.

So Gloster Meteors and Javelins had arabic mark numbers, but not the Gladiator, Gauntlet, Gnatsnapper or Gamecock :)

Stone now shaken out of shoe, less easy with SWMBO.... (Nosey neighbours preclude suspicious holes at bottom of garden - on to Plan B)
Image

Dev One
Vintage Pair
Vintage Pair
Posts: 2232
Joined: 10 Jul 2009, 08:33
Location: 20 km south of LFBN

Re: GLOSTER GLADIATORS BETA

Post by Dev One » 06 Jan 2019, 17:39

AllanL wrote:
06 Jan 2019, 15:11
€90 spent on an external backup drive might be worthy of consideration too!
Yes I have two back up drives & a USB, but 1) I had not backed up all of my development model I'm working on at the moment & 2) I was unable to visualise it any way as the screen was dead. Luckily I do have an older W7 'puter where I could install the D drive ( my working HDD - my C drive (an SSD) has the Operating software), put the necessary bits on a usb & then implant it in my laptop, although there is a slip up in doing that - the texture files for rendering on the model did not have the same family tree so didn't show when I tried it! Anyway alls well at the moment although I'm back to one screen until I receive a replacement.
Keith

Post Reply