Windows 11

The place for hardware and software issues, FS and non-FS related

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
User avatar
Nigel H-J
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 7295
Joined: 14 May 2005, 15:33
Location: Lincolnshire

Windows 11

Post by Nigel H-J »

Windows 11 out now or so I have been led to believe.

Are you going to upgrade or wait?

One thing I did read regarding Win 11 is that games will load much faster on it as the graphic card will not have to read via the CPU. :dunno:

Regards
Nigel
I used to be an optimist but with age I am now a grumpy old pessimist.
User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 13585
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 11

Post by TSR2 »

It’s basically Windows 10 with a different front end mate. I’m going to put it on my laptop out of curiosity, but think I’ll leave my PC as is.

A lot of the so called performance enhancements are very subjective. I wouldn’t take to much of that into account.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage
User avatar
Nigel H-J
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 7295
Joined: 14 May 2005, 15:33
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: Windows 11

Post by Nigel H-J »

It’s basically Windows 10 with a different front end mate. I’m going to put it on my laptop out of curiosity, but think I’ll leave my PC as is.

A lot of the so called performance enhancements are very subjective. I wouldn’t take to much of that into account.
That is why it is a free upgrade then!! 8) I had read that Win 11 is supposed to increase load times on games but it would be much better if they worked on the engine so that all cores of a CPU can be used instead. Guess it is all down to game developers instead when they feel that they want to improve performance for their customers.

BTW Ben, have the devs at MS2020 enabled all cores to be used in the sim? Just hoping the devs working on X-Plane 12 will do it to enable us better and smoother game play.

Regards
Nigel.
I used to be an optimist but with age I am now a grumpy old pessimist.
User avatar
Tomliner
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 4084
Joined: 02 Apr 2006, 12:00
Location: Edinburgh UK

Re: Windows 11

Post by Tomliner »

I installed the MS app to check my pc and it shows the my i5 processor is not suitable. No problem as Windows 10 is supported for another 4 years. :) EricT
Now at the age where I know I like girls but can't remember why!
User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 13585
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 11

Post by TSR2 »

Yes, MSFS has used all cores since day 1, and so does P3D tbh.

Eric, it’s unlikely to be the processor, but that is how it’s probably reported. The thing that will catch most folk out is the requirement for a TPM 2.0 module. This is a piece of hardware embedded on the motherboard for security. Most home machines never had them, and older business machines only had version 1.2. Windows 11 requires TPM version 2.0.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage
User avatar
Tomliner
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 4084
Joined: 02 Apr 2006, 12:00
Location: Edinburgh UK

Re: Windows 11

Post by Tomliner »

Hi Ben. I had checked TPM2 a while ago and found that my pc has it. :) EricT
Now at the age where I know I like girls but can't remember why!
User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 13585
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 11

Post by TSR2 »

That seems really odd Eric. You must have a series 7 or series 8 processor then, so it would seem very strange if they weren't compatible.

If its any consolation, I wouldn't bother. The start menu is an abomination. I've just put it on my Surface Laptop. 8)
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage
User avatar
Tomliner
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Posts: 4084
Joined: 02 Apr 2006, 12:00
Location: Edinburgh UK

Re: Windows 11

Post by Tomliner »

Sent you an email Ben.
Now at the age where I know I like girls but can't remember why!
Post Reply