Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

If you have a payware prog whether it be a model, scenery or utility that you have tried.. tell us about it here.

Moderators: The Ministry, Guru's

Post Reply
User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 13645
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by TSR2 »

Hi Chaps,

On the off chance any of you have the above. Do you know if there are instructions for the AP? I've gone through the docs in the Carenado folder and there doesn't seem to be any reference to the Autopilot. I've had a look on Avsim and on their support section, but I can't see anything relevant.

Also, cannot for love nor money get it to intercept the ILS. The radios are set to the correct frequency as the ADF is pointing correctly, but it just doesn't seem to see the beam for ILS.

Thanks in advance.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage
cstorey
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1575
Joined: 11 Jul 2004, 19:36
Location: heswall, wirral

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by cstorey »

Ben : I hope I'm not teaching my grandmother etc , but the ADF is a medium frequency aid ( presumably in your case for the outer marker ) and has nothing to do with the ILS frequency which will lie in the VHF range of 108Mhz to 117.975Mhz
User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 13645
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by TSR2 »

Hi Chris, yep, got that, wrong terminology. The ADF is fine, 420.0 kHz and the IlS is on 109.9 MHz on NAV1
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage
ajb
Comet
Comet
Posts: 183
Joined: 10 Oct 2006, 07:00
Location: Isle of Lewis, Scotland

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by ajb »

Hi Ben,

I have the 360 running in P3D and love it. Like all Carendo stuff there is a lack of useful manuals but the autopilot controls are quite simple. That said I have a Saitek MCP so tend to control the autopilot using that device. I have not yet encountered any problems intercepting the ILS but I do tend to fly a close course to the beam to make sure it finds it.

My biggest problem with the 360 is slowing it down. I usually resort to long, gentle descents then levelling off and letting speed bleed off until I can deploy flaps and undercarriage. I messed around with thrust and prop levers and nothing seems to slow it down; it's very slippery even if it doesn't look like it should be.

Andy
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6 core 4.2GHz
AsusTeK Prime B450M-A Motherboard
16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 1600MHz RAM
Nvidia GeForce RTX 2060 Super 4Gb
3x 250Gb SSD + 1x 1Tb HDD
User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 13645
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by TSR2 »

Cheers Andy,

It’s a nightmare to slow down, and get on the deck. But it’s very pretty! 😁

I think the issue is to to with the Garmin unit. The real aircraft didn’t have this and was a retro fit in later years. It seems you can’t use the radios to set Nav 1 and Nav2 unless you do it in the Garmin. And the Nav radios in the Garmin seem to operated independently of the actual radios. For example if I set NAV1 to 109.90, and fly directly into the ILS beam, absolutely nothing happens… I’m guessing because the Garmin needs to be set too?
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage
ggi
Meteor
Meteor
Posts: 70
Joined: 20 Mar 2005, 00:37
Location: Edinburgh UK

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by ggi »

It could possibly be the NAV/GPS switch is set to GPS? On some aircraft this isn't obvious, so try assigning a keyboard command to switch NAV/GPS and see if that works?
Gary
User avatar
TSR2
The Ministry
Posts: 13645
Joined: 17 Jun 2004, 14:32
Location: North Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by TSR2 »

Cheers Gary, I'll give that a go.

I found I had bought (at some point years ago) the VirutalCol Shorts pack. The VC is pretty basic compared to the Carenado ones, but it works! and the aircraft actually performs more like a 360 (in that it slows down). You also get the 360, 330, and Skyvan in the pack with lots of great repaints.
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage
User avatar
airboatr
Red Arrows
Red Arrows
Posts: 6643
Joined: 25 Oct 2007, 07:17

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by airboatr »

Hi Ben,
Any chance of editing the config file and change the drag coefficient parameters..... n'stuff. :worried: *-)
Scorpius
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1113
Joined: 21 Apr 2007, 21:49
Location: Bournemouth

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by Scorpius »

Hi Ben,

I have the same setup so here goes:

From the S360 cockpit it's shift F3 then select AP and GNS530. I put these on another monitor.

Select VLOC 1 frquency by pressing bottom LH knob (Comms or VLOC) and adjust display to read airport ILS. Press V button next to frequency readout to set VOR radios to ILS you have just set.

If you are using the local airport you should see the ident, heading and DME.

Off you go!

It is a sod to fly the approach, try to set the flaps before descent as there is bags of lift from them and the AP cannot keep up. I use throttle and prop pitch to control the speed.

Good luck!

Nev
User avatar
Motormouse
Concorde
Concorde
Posts: 1301
Joined: 09 Sep 2004, 22:03
Location: In a Hangar

Re: Carenado S360 / S330 ILS / AP

Post by Motormouse »

TSR2 wrote: 12 Aug 2021, 09:43 Cheers Andy,

It’s a nightmare to slow down, and get on the deck. But it’s very pretty! 😁

I think the issue is to to with the Garmin unit. The real aircraft didn’t have this and was a retro fit in later years. It seems you can’t use the radios to set Nav 1 and Nav2 unless you do it in the Garmin. And the Nav radios in the Garmin seem to operated independently of the actual radios. For example if I set NAV1 to 109.90, and fly directly into the ILS beam, absolutely nothing happens… I’m guessing because the Garmin needs to be set too?
Hmm, I only ever saw one 360 with a garmin box, and I'm not sure even then that the auto tune function was enabled, that was a 300 with 67R engines and 6 bladed props, that one didn't want to land either

IIRC in the end we made adjustments to blade angle settings via beta follow-up

Ttfn

Pete
An Elephant is a Mouse designed to
a government specification.
Post Reply