Yoke Advice please

The place for hardware and software issues, FS and non-FS related

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

Bridon Bear
The Ministry

Yoke Advice please

Post by Bridon Bear »

I have been using my trusty M$ Sidewinder Pro for many years and recently wondered about getting a replacement controller.....it must be about time.... ;)

Anyway, I was thinking about a yoke and rudder pedal set as 'Crimble' is fast approaching and would like something more realistic for rudder than 'twisting' the stick but naturally, I do not want to make any rash decisions without asking the 'masses' on here first. ;)

There appear to be 2 main contenders...Saitek or CH.. :S .....does anyone have any experience of either of these?

Looked on YouTube at some in use but not easy to see and of course impossible to establish the realism, build quality etc...

Any pointers gratefully acknowledged plus tips on the best places to purchase said items.

Many thanks

Bridon Bear ;)

'Only Birds and Fools Fly'

http://thethriftysquirrels.co.uk

TSR2
The Ministry

Re: Yoke Advice please

Post by TSR2 »

I find the Saitek stuff well made, but far to light. You could blow the stick from side to side, so I sent it back and stick with my Sidewinder. No Idea what the CH stuff is like, but its supposed to be good, albeit geared towards flight sim, so not much good for anything else, but if all your going to use it for is flightsim.... ;)

TBH I reckon the Sidewinder was the best all rounder in terms of price / space / build / function. :)
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

MALTBY D
The Gurus

Post by MALTBY D »

I've had the basic CH Yoke & pedals for nearly six years and like them very much.
They are sturdy and nice to use. Just need a small amount of cleaning every so often to keep them working smooth.
They have quite a nice sprung action and they have retained the same feel as when they were new.