The place for hardware and software issues, FS and non-FS related

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

brandsman
Chipmunk
Chipmunk

FSX Hunters invisible!

Post by brandsman »

Hi All,

I am new to the forum and amazed at the Hunters (and other aircraft, but I'm a Hunter nut) on the site, an amazing job. As a current Hunter pilot (F 58 and T 68) I was really delighted to find Dave Garwood's work. Thanks! I went out and bought FSX and downloaded the Hunters and loaded them, but I have clearly done something wrong because when I select a Hunter (any of them) i get a picture of the pilot or pilots sitting in space with the various lights in the right positions but no aircraft. Try to fly them and there's no cockpit or instrument view. Unfortunately I am a total beginner and I apologise if this is a dumb post, but I was hoping someone could tell me where I am going wrong?! :((

Regards
Ron

DaveB
The Ministry

Re: FSX Hunters invisible!

Post by DaveB »

Hi Ron and Welcome :hello:

An odd one but one that might have an obvious answer. Did you download the FSX Hunters?? I know this is too obvious but there ARE 2 sets of Hunters out there.. one for FS9 and the other for FSX. Also, what OS are you using? I gather Win7 has a habit of putting things where it wants rather than where they should go!

ATB

DaveB B)smk
ImageImage
Old sailors never die.. they just smell that way!

DaveG
The Gurus

Post by DaveG »

Hi Ron, :hello:

Think I know the problem here. I assume you've just bought the "basic" FSX, not the "gold" edition that contains the Acceleration add-on pack. If that's the case, you'll need to download and install the 2 service packs for FSX (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... AAE2F0409E and http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... 41A3E27FF0)

The Hunters use high resolution textures which were not supported by the original release of FSX, but was added with the updates.

Hope this helps, and you enjoy flying my Hunters :fly:
Dave G.

brandsman
Chipmunk