Working when you get older

The Crewroom for non-FS related stuff, fun and general chat.

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

DogTailRed2
Concorde
Concorde

Working when you get older

Post by DogTailRed2 »

I'm 53 and at a turning point in my working life.
Not enougth years to practically retrain in anything significant.
Becomming mentally tired so having difficulty keeping up with technology and trends (I work in IT).
Feel like I should just become another manager because that's what old people do.
Need a total change of career but doubt that will ever be possible.

Just wondering what everybody else did when they reached 50 something career wise.

Paul K
Red Arrows
Red Arrows

Re: Working when you get older

Post by Paul K »

The first thing I would consider is what provision you have made for your retirement ( whenever that comes ). If you are set up in terms of pensions and mortgage paid off ( or close to it ) then that frees up your options between now and then. As for your age, I don't think 53 is considered too late to retrain for something. Brain surgeon or ISS commander are probably a little unrealistic as goals, but there must be some vocation or skill that interests you - any clues ?

511Flyer
Vintage Pair
Vintage Pair

Post by 511Flyer »

When I was 48, I was the field service supervisor for Hotpoint in Surrey. On office with a secretary, company car, good salary, 28 engineers on the road. Got where I wanted to be, but where would I go from there?

So one evening I sat down with my wife, who was working in a delicatessen, and had a heart to heart. She is two years younger, and felt the same as me. Our three kids, a son and two daughters, were consulted, and they were also up for a change.