VR just found a way to increase FPS in X-Plane 11

The place for hardware and software issues, FS and non-FS related

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

Nigel H-J
Red Arrows
Red Arrows

VR just found a way to increase FPS in X-Plane 11

Post by Nigel H-J »

Having the Quest 2 since around last March I have enjoyed VR flying but could not set Number of World Objects to Maximum otherwise my framerates would go down below 20fps in high density areas such as London Airport and even where large cities lay.

As I am no techie on VR I don't know why I did this but decided to set my Quest 2 from 80Hz to 90 Hz just to see if there was any difference (in graphics) and WOW there was!! :-O :excited: I can now run World Objects which includes towns cities and villages to their maximum and all with an increase of around 4 - 5 fps which means a lot if you want to see a town with all their buildings as apposed to the 'High Setting' which shows quite a few buildings missing which I find a bit disappointing!!

So from London City Airport using R/W 28 in the Carenado F50 it used to be below 20fps at around 17-18 now it is 22.5fps but even then, the take-off and even landing towards the city is so much smoother.

The only thing I cannot do is to run Visual Effects up one notch into HDR but with all buildings in towns and cities, HDR can wait for X-Plane 12.

So from harping on from my surprise, can any-one tell me why using a higher Hz setting gives greater performance? *-) This has got me completely stumped as I would have expected a higher setting to have the complete opposite effect. For those in MS2020 in VR maybe the same will apply to your VR Flying? :dunno:

Be interesting to see if any-one else is able to gain more fps!

Regards
Nigel.
I used to be an optimist but with age I am now a grumpy old pessimist.

TSR2
The Ministry

Re: VR just found a way to increase FPS in X-Plane 11

Post by TSR2 »