Complete Noob!! :)

A quiet place for budding model makers to share thoughts, get answers to questions and request and share references.

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

TomNocturnal
Meteor
Meteor

Complete Noob!! :)

Post by TomNocturnal »

I am really interested in "building" an aircraft (Im thinking a Westland Whirlwind - my favourite plane just based on looks, even if rated a bit poor) but as I have NO idea as to how these 3D development programs and the likes, I have a couple of questions:

1: On a scale of 1 to 10, would you say it was hard "building" and aircraft, from start to finish?
1 - being: "No, Its childs play..."
10 - being: "Don't try this at home..."

2: On a scale of 1 to 10, would you say it is worth getting into?
1 - being: "Yeah, everybody on the planet should at least have a go - you never know, you might like it..."
10 - being: "No, completely pointless. Only do it if you like pointless stress and no reward..."

3: How long, from start to finish,( i.e. everything from: Learning engough 3D development to suffice, to, Installing the aircraft and taking it for your first flight,) would you be looking at?
1 - being: "Ohhh, just a couple of days..."
3 - being: "Ill see you on your 40th birthday..."

4: How intense does the background "programming" of the aircraft get? i heard .CFG files mentioned etc...
1 - being: "You can do it if you can spell: "Apple!"
2 - being: "Unless you programmed the Apollo at age 4, then don't even bother..."

5: What programs will be required to do this and is the included program(Maya???!!???) any good??

I think you can see what im trying to get at here!?

Thanks guys
I look forward to your replies... :k: :smile:

Ed Walters
Meteor
Meteor

Post by Ed Walters »

I'd say it's a 10 on most of those, lol :wink:

Well, it's not so much "hard" as time consuming and painstaking. A good aircraft can easily take 6 months of development.