moving an airfield??

A quiet place for budding model makers to share thoughts, get answers to questions and request and share references.

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

233SQN
Viscount
Viscount

moving an airfield??

Post by 233SQN »

folks:

I do most of my virtual flying low and slow from a farm strip called Croft Farm in Worcestershire.

The real Croft farm is easy to spot from the air as it is on the edge of the disused RAF Defford.

I would like to add an RAF Defford to my flight Sim world, but I have no modelling experience and as it is only required as a "visual aid" I wondered if it is possible to take an existing (similar layout) airfield, re name it and change its location to suit?

If so....how do I go about it?

Thanks as always for your guidance!
Thanks

Colin Bear

DaveB
The Ministry

Re: moving an airfield??

Post by DaveB »

Hi Colin..

You should be able to do that (eg.. copy an airfield) though it would take rather more than dragging and dropping I fear. On second thoughts.. maybe not as all relevant buildings would be referenced geographically :brick: You then have the problem of elevation so new flattens would have to be made! :roll:

Easiest thing to do (he says!!) is grab a freeware prog called Runway12 and have a dabble. You can add bits to an existing scenery area using EZScenery (payware) but to be brutally honest.. I don't think there's any 'Easy' way to set about it. Most of these programs require a steep learning curve but you gotta start somewhere ;-)

ATB

DaveB :tab:
ImageImage
Old sailors never die.. they just smell that way!

DispatchDragon
Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain
Location: On the corner of walk and dont walk somewhere on US1

Post by DispatchDragon »

If all you want is a visual aid

Best way to do it is get AC AFCAD and build it yourself :) its not difficult and actually a lot of fun

You wont have structures but you can model the runways taxiways etc etc and AFCAD.exe is available